Macintosh HD:Users:lindaallen:Desktop:IWLA Exec. Board Meetings:IWLA Logo-1.pdfIowa World
Language Association

Press Release for 2017 Friend of IWLA Awardee

19 Oct 2017 5:21 PM | Pamela Wesely

Des Moines, IA—The Iowa World Language Association (IWLA) is pleased to announce the 2017 Friend of IWLA has been awarded to Sandra Dop. The award presentation was held during the luncheon of the 2017 Iowa World Language Association Annual Conference at the Des Moines Downtown Marriott in Des Moines, IA on Friday, October 13th.

The Friend of IWLA award is meant to recognize an individual who has provided special and exceptional service or aid to the Iowa World Language Association.  Ms. Dop’s experience as an educator spans four decades and includes teaching at elementary, middle school, high school, and post-secondary levels as well as being a K-12 principal, curriculum director, and superintendent in several states and for Department of Defense Dependent Schools.  She recently served as Consultant for 21st Century Skills and Competency-based Education at the Iowa Department of Education, where she was instrumental in the creation of the Iowa World Language Competencies. She retired from this position last year; however, she recently came out of retirement to become the interim administrator at Victory Christian Academy in Indianola.

About IWLA
The Iowa World Language Association (IWLA) represents the more than 1200 world language educators in the state from all levels of instruction and representing all languages. The Iowa World Language Association (IWLA) is devoted to advancing the worldwide mission of education and world languages, literature and culture by promoting the study of world languages and cultures, promoting language curricula, from primary to post-secondary levels, to enable students to become proficient in the target language, and opening the doors for multilingual interaction with other cultures. More information can be found at

Pictured: Stacy Amling (IWLA Treasurer), Sandra Dop, Jason Noble (IWLA Past President)

© The Iowa World Language Association

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software