Macintosh HD:Users:lindaallen:Desktop:IWLA Exec. Board Meetings:IWLA Logo-1.pdfIowa World
Language Association


IWLA has three awards established to recognize outstanding world language teachers from across the state of Iowa.  Please click on the name of the award to see extensive information about how to nominate a colleague or student.  

Michael Oates Teacher of Promise (TOP) Award

The IWLA Michael Oates “Teacher of Promise” Award may be conferred annually on students in teacher-training programs who have shown exceptional promise and potential to become outstanding world language educators. 

Educator of the Year Award

The Educator of the Year Award is designed to recognize teachers who exemplify the best in teaching at his/her particular level, who demonstrate involvement in the Iowa World Language Association, and who provide evidence of leadership and contributions to the field of world language education. 

Distinguished Service Award

The Distinguished Service Award recognizes a world language educator who, throughout her/his career, has demonstrated professional growth; extensive involvement in IWLA and in other professional organizations; leadership; and excellence in teaching. 

© The Iowa World Language Association

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software